Meet Sri Lankan Researcher — Priyadharshany Sandanapitchai

Sustainable Education Foundation
3 min readMar 10, 2020

What are you currently working on or worked on before?

As a research associate at the FXB centre of Rutgers University, I assist with studies examining different components involved in the context of HIV such as mental health, substance use, biomedical prevention and mobile health, with an emphasis on sociocultural determinants of health and health disparities reduction. I provide support across several NIH funded studies at various stages of development from implementation stages, pilot study conceptualization and execution, develop research grant proposals to data management and analysis.

In addition, I am also currently developing an independent research project on the role of social identity and the aftereffect of trauma among trauma survivors in Sri Lanka. My research interest stems from the recent Easter attack and the perceived stigma developed around specific groups. Therefore, my study aims to examine the stigma around different aspects of social identity related to ethnicity, gender and sexual orientations and how they affect the responses to trauma.

When I was in grad school, I worked on a research project with my professor on the topic of resilience and culture. I assisted with reviewing the literature, data collection, analysis and the development of manuscripts for publication. At the same time, I was also a graduate research assistant in the Nursing department. In that role, I helped undergraduate and graduate students with their research data analysis and co-authored two publications of the faculty.

What encouraged you to pursue your research topic?

In the mental health field, there is still a lack of understanding on cultural differences when it comes to providing appropriate treatment and I believe that research can give us the tool to incorporate culture-specific evidence-based practices to diverse populations. Therefore, through my research work, I would like to explore more on socio-cultural components within the mental health context in different settings.

What is the name of your current institute?

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Where do you find your best inspiration for your work?

I read scientific journals relating to my research areas

Can you share with us some of your publications?

Yes, you can find them using the below mentioned URLs.

https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2019.00131/full

http://gslpublishers.org/journals/current-issues/89-Article.pdf

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S235201321830454X

What’s one of your biggest personal achievements so far?

As a first-generation college student, I treasure all my educational achievements as my biggest personal achievement at every stage. A recent one would be when I received the award for ‘Excellence in graduate studies 2018’ during my graduation.

What lessons would you share with a budding researcher?

It is important to be a part of any research projects while you are in college, even if it’s meant to be volunteering. It’s a great way to start your research career and can help open up many more opportunities.

What motivated you to be a researcher?

I strongly believe that research can provide a deeper understanding to the prevailing gaps between knowledge and practice in various disciplines. Therefore, becoming a social researcher, I believed that I will have more opportunities to test and challenge some of those existing theories and bring in new knowledge to expand our perspective.

If there is a chance, will you help build research in Sri Lanka?

Yes, Definitely!

According to your opinion, what are the changes that the Sri Lankan education system needs to do, in order to meet the requirement of the international industry and academia?

As someone who finished schooling and undergrad in Sri Lanka, I had the feeling that the Sri Lankan education system makes you more like a book worm. I remember most of my school days memorizing facts and theories but did not get much practical or research skills when I came out of school. Instead of learning what others have done, I think we should focus more on how to do it by ourselves and that requires more resources and funding.

--

--

Sustainable Education Foundation

We empower students, education institutes and education as a whole in Sri Lanka.